Baking · Home · Home Crafts · Southern Style Recipes

Homage to my Danish heritage…Danish Hearts and Cinnamon Rolls!

Stay funny Valentine…stay…

As the song says…

‘Each day is Valentine’s Day!’

Danish Hearts
Danish Hearts

So…even though Valentine’s Day has come and gone…I am posting some of my favorite things that I made for this Valentine’s Day. 🙂

I had some challenges with my new laptop and photo program and was unable to get it all worked out by Valentine’s Day.

But…every day is a good day to express love and make goodies, right?

I have been so intrigued with my heritage (both French and Danish) and have been exploring recipes and traditions from France and Denmark (see last post…French Cookies).

About a year ago, or so, I came across the Danish Heart. I love them! These hearts are traditionally made at Christmas time. Children make them out of paper and they are hung on the Christmas tree. I happen to think they are suitable for Valentine’s Day as well. The heart is woven together with just two pieces of paper (or fabric) and creates a basket that can be used for a piece of candy or a little trinket.

I made mine from fabric. To make them more sturdy I first tried fabric stiffener and found the best result from using an iron on facing. To reinforce the structure I sewed the sides together at the top and reinforced just on one side on the bottom. Then I attached some ribbon and embellished with buttons or tiny roses.

"Heart Felt Greetings"
“Heart Felt Greetings”

I love Valentine’s Day! Love should be expressed every day…but it is one of those times we can make it seem even more special. It just makes saying…

“I Love You”…a little bit sweeter!

And, of course, making something sweet for someone sweet…makes it even better! So…bring on the Cinnamon Rolls! I know…Valentine’s Day is supposed to be a day for chocolate, right? Well…we had that too but the weekend before Valentine’s Day…Poppy helped me try out a new recipe for Cinnamon Rolls.

Yep…we had a week of Valentine’s treats! See…there are so many reasons to love the celebration of love!

Cinnamon Roll...Love!
Cinnamon Roll…Love!

I have been a lover of Cinnamon Rolls…forever! And…I have tried many recipes.  I am told that my Danish Grandmother made some pretty fantastic Cinnamon Rolls. Sure wish I had her recipe! I found this one in my Southern Living Homestyle Cookbook….and it is definitely a keeper!

My husband (Poppy)gave me a hand with these because I had sore, cracked fingers from this frigid Kentucky weather. He was needed for the kneading!. He did a great job! The rolls turned out to be tender and delicious!

'Cake Like' frosted goodness!
‘Cake Like’ frosted goodness!

Such simple things…make me smile!

The comforts of Home…nothing better!

Here is a link that will take you to the recipe for some of the best Cinnamon Rolls..ever!…

https://sites.google.com/site/recipesfromhomeandtherange/buttermilk-cinnamon-rolls

‘Til we meet again…

Wishing you a happy heart each and every day…

 filled with tender moments, sweet treats,

the comforts of home to make you smile… 

And forever love!

~Blessings!

Vee

Poppy...rollin' in the dough!
Poppy…rollin’ in the dough!

11 thoughts on “Homage to my Danish heritage…Danish Hearts and Cinnamon Rolls!

    1. Thank you Barbara and I’m glad to bring them back to mind. 🙂 I hope you’ll make them again next Valentine’s Day…but again, as the song says….each day is Valentine’s Day. Why wait, right? ~Blessings!

      Like

Leave a comment