Silver White Winters that melt into Spring…and other favorite things!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It is beautiful here in Kentucky!  ‘Silver White Winter’ has turned into Spring! There really were few ‘wintery’ days…but those few days were definitely beautiful…and a nice change from the Arizona desert scenery!

My thoughts about ‘Winter to Spring’…

There are some wonderful songs from the movie The Sound of Music. I would bet that any of us Baby Boomers (who like musicals and that kind of thing) and even some that were not born in ‘The  Boom’…have some favorite songs from that movie.  One of mine…My Favorite Things! I sang that song to my children when they were sad…or fell and got an ouchie. You know the part….when the dog bites, when the bee stings….when I’m feeling sad…

I simply remember my favorite things and then I don’t feel….soooooooooooo (I’m singing…holding the note)….bad! Now…some of my children claim to not remember that I sang this to them. Maybe they choose not to remember? Hmmm….I know I can carry a tune! Oh well…

I just wanted to share some of the scenery…

and my slant on that great song…

There is also a nice video at the end of this post…I hope you’ll enjoy it!

My Favorite Things

Raindrops on roses….and roses and raindrops.

Bright copper kettles and Whiskers on kittens …

and why do I like whiskers…and love leather gloves…

These are a few of the things that I love….

Brown paper packages tied up with strings

Now the post office won’t take any such thing….

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels,

Well…any colored pony…and…

I think I’ll make strudel.

Please knock, don’t ring…what exactly is this

schnitzel with my noodles thing?

Wild geese that fly with the sun or moon on their wings…

yes….these are a few of my favorite things…

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes…

my daughters and granddaughters….in dresses with sashes,

and blue satin…and sashes.

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes,

ah yes…the snow….good mascara on lashes,

these are a few of my favorite things….

so…

if the dog bites,

there will be no treats tonight,

when the bee stings,

stay out of their hive and things…

and when I’m feeling sad…

I simply remember my favorite things….

and then I don’ t feel……

soooooooooooooooooooooooo

Bad!

On a serious note….

There are times in my life…when I am sad…that I call to mind the faces of my little children, when I sang them this song…how it turned their sad little faces to happy little faces…and then…I don’t feel so bad!

I hope you’ll find a moment to remember some of your favorites things today!

Wishing you a day…simply blessed!

Vee

Lorrie Morgan…My Favorite Things

3 comments on “Silver White Winters that melt into Spring…and other favorite things!

  1. Victoria says:

    Hi! Yes…I did take all of the pictures. It is so beautiful here. Definitely nice to have seasons. You would love it!
    Love you too!

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page for a second time.

Leave a Reply

